The Iowa Heart Foundation has an active Board of Directors made up of professionals throughout Central Iowa who are dedicated to serving Iowans. The board members give their time, expertise and resources willingly to advance Iowa Heart Foundation’s mission.

The Foundation is supported by dedicated and passionate staff with extensive experience in non-profit management, strategic partnerships, and health promotion implementation.

  • T.M. Brown

    T.M. Brown, M.D.Chairman

    Dr. Brown has worked at the MercyOne Iowa Heart Center since 1976; following completion of a cardiology fellowship at the Emory University Medical School in Atlanta. Prior to that, he earned undergraduate and medical degrees at Vanderbilt University in Nashville. He completed an internship and residency at the Yale–New Haven Hospital in New Haven, CT, and spent two years at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta before undertaking his cardiology fellowship. Dr. Brown, a native of West Virginia, is board certified in cardiology, echocardiography and geriatric medicine. Dr. Brown currently practices at MercyOne Iowa Heart Center's office at the Mercy Medical Center–Des Moines campus.

  • John D. Shors

    John D. ShorsVice- Chairman

    Mr. Shors is the most senior shareholder and a name partner of the Davis Brown Law 
Firm. He has a general practice in, but not limited to, business organizations and transactions, tax and mediation and alternative dispute resolution. He frequently counsels individual executives and boards of directors in a range of matters. Mr. Shors is admitted to practice by the Iowa Supreme Court, the United States District Courts for the Northern and Southern Districts of Iowa, the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit and the United States Supreme Court. Over his career he has represented clients such as Iowa State University, Mercy Medical Center and MidAmerican Energy Companies.

  • Mark Tannenbaum

    Mark Tannenbaum, M.D.Secretary/Treasurer

    Dr. Tannenbaum is an interventional cardiologist for the Iowa Heart Center, and he is the only Iowa Heart Center physician with a degree in political theory. He selected his major at Cornell University in New York because of his strong interest in the American political system and how our government works. His interest in medicine, however, was even stronger, and he went from Cornell to the University of Vermont, where he received a medical degree. Dr. Tannenbaum completed his residency at the State University of New York in Brooklyn, and a cardiology fellowship at Mt. Sinai Medical Center in New York City. He performed an interventional cardiology fellowship at Westchester County Medical Center in suburban New York City before joining Iowa Heart Center in 1989. Dr. Tannenbaum is board certified in cardiology and interventional cardiology, and currently practices at MercyOne Iowa Heart Center in Des Moines.

  • Jose Borromeo

    Jose Borromeo, M.D.

    Dr. Borromeo joined MercyOne Iowa Heart Center’s vascular surgery program in August of 2007. He previously practiced at Guam Memorial Hospital in Guam. Dr. Borromeo holds a medical degree from the University of the Philippines and completed his vascular surgery fellowship at Yale–New Haven Hospital in New Haven, Connecticut. Dr. Borromeo is certified in vascular surgery. He currently offers outpatient appointments at MercyOne Iowa Heart Center's West Des Moines clinic and performs surgery primarily at MercyOne–Des Moines.

  • Michael Fraizer

    Michael Fraizer, M.D.

    Dr. Fraizer joined MercyOne Iowa Heart Center’s interventional cardiology program in August of 2004. He holds a medical degree from the University of Iowa College of Medicine, completed his residency at the University of Colorado Health Sciences in Denver and fulfilled both his cardiology and interventional cardiology fellowships at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. He practices primarily in West Des Moines but also sees patients at Skiff Medical Center in Newton and in Madison County Memorial Hospital in Winterset. He currently serves as the Physician Chief Executive Office for MercyOne Iowa Heart Center.

  • Fran Johnson

    Fran Johnson, M.D.

    Dr. Johnson has been a clinical cardiologist for the MercyOne Iowa Heart Center’s Advanced Heart Failure program since the summer of 2015. Dr. Johnson is a graduate of University of Washington Medical School in Seattle. She completed her internal medicine residency at UCSF/San Francisco General Hospital and her fellowship in cardiovascular medicine at Stanford University School of Medicine in California. Dr. Johnson is board certified in cardiovascular disease and advanced heart failure and transplant cardiology. A well-published clinician, researcher and educator, Dr. Johnson is a member of the International Society of Heart & Lung Transplant, Mechanical Circulatory Support, Heart Failure and Transplant Medicine Councils, and the American Society of Transplantation.

  • Lezlie Mestdagh

    Lezlie MestdaghExecutive Director

    Lezlie joined the Iowa Foundation in 2019 and serves as the Executive Director. Her responsibilities include overseeing operations of the Foundation and fostering strategic partnerships. In addition she serves as the Chapter Executive of the Iowa Chapter of the American College of Cardiology.

  • Carrie Scheidel

    Carrie ScheidelProgram Manager

    Carrie joined the Iowa Foundation in 2021 and will serve in a dual role with MercyOne Iowa Heart Center. Her responsibilities include community and clinical outreach, educational programming, and management of continuing education.